[Skip to content]


Governing Body

Who we are

The NHS South Kent Coast CCG Governing Body structure has a very strong clinical membership and focus, with a GP as Chair, five additional GP Governing Body members (all elected by their peers), a hospital consultant and a nurse member. The Governing Body also includes two independent lay members, and senior members of the CCG management team. Non-voting attendees who support the Governing Body include senior staff. The Governing Body has a strong focus on concentrating on the needs of the South Kent Coast Community and addressing local issues.

Governing Body meetings

For dates and locations of our next governing body meeting, visit our meetings page

Our  Governing Body members

Dr Bryant
Dr Jonathan Bryant. Clinical Chair.
Glenn Douglas
Glenn Douglas, Accountable Officer
Cathy Finnis
Cathy Finnis, Lay Member for Patient and Public Engagement
Alistair Smith
Alistair Smith, Lay Member for Governance
DR Ian Mckenzie
Dr Ian Mckenzie, Governing Body Member
DR Stewart Coltart
Dr Stewart Coltart, Governing Body Member
Darren Cocker
Dr Darren Cocker. Clinical member.
Female Governing Body placeholder
Dr Tara Hoshyar. GP clinical member.
Martin Smits
Martin Smits, Lay Member for the Primary Care Commissioning Committee
Ivor Duffy, Chief Finance Officer
Ivor Duffy, Chief Finance Officer
staff profile picture
Dr Manuel Fernandes. GP clinical member.
DR Chee Mah
Dr Chee Mah, Governing Body Member
staff profile picture
Dr Abiola Idowu. GP clinical member.
Maria Jackson
Maria Jackson, Governing Body Member
Sarah Vaux, Chief Nurse
staff profile picture
Dr Brighton Chireka. Clinical member.

Governing Body remuneration

In line with the requirements set out in the National Health Service (Clinical Commissioning Groups) Regulations 2012 we publish information relating to Governing Body members and senior staff pay.


Declarations of interest

The possibility of conflicts of interest in the NHS commissioning architecture is well known and nationally documented. The Governing Body takes its responsibility to the community extremely seriously and to ensure probity we have a comprehensive policy around how we do business, our Standards of Business Conduct Policy. This was ratified at the January 2013 Governing Body meeting and a copy can be downloaded below:

It is an essential feature of reforms that CCGs should be able to commission a range of community-based services, including primary care services to improve quality and outcomes for patients. The Code of Conduct takes account of guidance from NHS England concerning CCG commissioned services where GP practices are potential providers and NHS South Kent Coast CCG adopted the safeguards set out in NHS England  Code of Conduct at its meeting of 6 November 2013.

Process are in place to ensure that the Register of Interests is updated regularly. The latest register is available to download below:

Should you have any questions about the Standards of Business Conduct or the Register of Interests please contact the Company Secretary in any of the following ways:

Telephone: 03000 424 700
Email: Company Secretary: SKCCCG.GB@nhs.net 
Post: NHS South Kent Coast Clinical Commissioning Group, Dover District Council Offices, White Cliffs Business Park, Whitfield, Dover Kent CT16 3PJ


Caldicott Guardian, South Kent Coast CCG

Dr Jonathan  Bryant


For more information on the role of the Caldicott Guardian please click here